Friday, September 07, 2007

Blue States: First Steps Into...
(Memphis Industries)
release: September 4, 2007
style: ambient magic
similar: Junkie XL, Air, Sugar Plant
rating: ****
Already a decade as Blue States with or without other members, Andy Dragazis truly impresses with the opening cut on First Steps Into... . The vocals are lush and buried, letting it cross over to latter day ethereal dream pop bands. The guitars rush over synthetic percussion on "Holding Ground" and the piano and strings are uplifting on "The Electric Compliment". The trippy "Gaining Time" and "100's and 1000's" is space-age travelling music for people that don't like space. A triumph! -Kenyon

No comments: